RoadRunners ice Tornado to win South Division title

Brawl with Wichita Falls The Topeka RoadRunners already met their Wichita Falls opponents, who they beat after the Texas Tornado earlier in the season. The RoadRunners beat the Wildcats during every match this season. Topeka will go on to battle the Texas Tornado in the first round of the playoffs.

ReAnne Utemark

Topeka’s newly-transplanted hockey team is already making headlines.

The RoadRunners nabbed the Regular Season NAHL South Division Title Friday night after defeating the Texas Tornado 5-3 in Frisco, Texas. The following night, the team defeated the Wichita Falls Wildcats in Wichita Falls, Texas.

According to a press release, head coach Scott Langer, will have quite a bit on which to reflect once the post-season work is over. This is his first-ever division title and his winningest year as a head coach. He and this year’s team set the mark as the winningest team in Topeka’s short hockey history. And now, he can hang the first banner in the rafters of the Kansas Expocentre.

Because the RoadRunners won the division title the playoffs will begin Saturday, April 5 in Topeka and the RoadRunners will have the home ice advantage in a best-of-five series. Tickets are available at the Kansas Expocentre box office.