Established 1885

The Washburn Review

Established 1885

The Washburn Review

Established 1885

The Washburn Review

Derek Blanchard

Derek Blanchard, Photographer and Videographer

I am a Mass Media major with focus on film and video. I am a full-time professional photographer with my main line of work being weddings and portraits. I love photography and it is all I think about. I am always working on improving my skills so I can someday teach what I know. I have been a photographer for student media for three semesters now and have been working with video by covering video interviews for student media. I have been married to my wonderful wife Shae for seven years now and I have a seventeen-year-old son named Noah. My dream is to have my own portrait studio and be able to travel and photograph exotic places. I also have a very spoiled Maine Coon cat named Callie.

All content by Derek Blanchard
Ready, Start, Go: Ichabod Pau Borillo Febrer works his way to the front of the pack in the mens 1K. Febrer finished the race in 3rd place with a time of 2:54.94.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Every Day Im Hustlin: Ichabod Darian Hillebert sprinting around the track in the womens 200-meter dash. Hillebert placed 17th in the competition with a time of 26.06 seconds on Saturday, Jan. 30 at the Washburn Open track meet.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
All Heart: Washburns Josh Wiltz giving everything he has in the 200-meter dash. Wiltz placed 64th in the competition with a time of 23.50 seconds.   I just thought I had a good start, but I just couldnt keep up with the other runner in the end, said Wiltz.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Washburns Gabriel Chinya runs into 17th place in the mens 3K with a time of 8:59.93 during day two of the Washburn Open.  Its entertaining when you have a pack you can stick to, and with the training that youve had, you can stick to the pack and then kick it in at the end. That is always a good feeling and also knowing that you have put in the right work, Chinya said.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Washburns Logan Stock finds his place in the pack during the mens 1K. Stock finished in 8th place with the time of 2:58.69 during the competitions at the Washburn Open Saturday, Jan. 30.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Neck and Neck: Washburns Isabella Hohl and Mandana Vouillemin running side by side in the 60-meter dash. Hohl finished in 16th place with a time of 7.88 seconds, and Vouillemin placed 18th with a time of 7.90 seconds. 
That race felt different. I felt really good, and I felt comfortable, and I am satisfied with my time, said Hohl. She said she tied her school record and hasnt run that fast in over a year.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Drop the Hammer: Washburns Wyatt Heiman picking up speed in the mens 60-meter dash. Heiman finished in 31st place with a time of 7.11 seconds. Heiman also competed in the mens 200-meter dash during the Washburn Open track and field competitions.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Born to Run: Washburns Sierra Mortensen is running strong and steady in the womens 3000-meter.  During long-distance events, I think about staying relaxed and trying not to focus on what lap I am on until there are five laps left and overall try to find a rhythm and dont get too far into my head, said Mortensen. She finished the race in 4th place with a time of 10:10.76 during the Jan. 30 track and field meet.

[Photo]

March 16, 2021
Ghost Runner: Ichabod Lyndsay Stinson digging deep to power through to the finish line of the 400-meter. Stinson finished in 5th place with a time of 59.62 seconds during the Washburn Open competitions on Saturday. 
The last few weeks, my races werent very good, so I was just trying to go as fast as I could today and hit a good time, said Stinson. I am happy with that time; that is my second best time ever.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Run to Achieve: Washburns Romain Henry running around the bank toward the home stretch of the 400 meter. Henry finished the race in 7th place with a time of 48.92 seconds. I only was focusing on the win, win, win. I know I can run faster, and I am really happy with the work I am doing with the coach, said Henry.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns  Luz Lopez Gonzalez competes in the womens 3000 meter race. Gonzalez raced in the Washburn Open Saturday, Jan.30, placing 20th with a time of 11:39.84.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Kelsie Dent finds a steady pace in the womens 3000 meter. Dent competed on day two of the Washburn Open Saturday, Jan. 30. She placed 16th with a time of 11:26.56.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Just Run: Washburns Darian Hillebert sprinting out of the blocks in the 60-meter dash. Hillebert finished in 22nd place with a time of 8.04 seconds during the Washburn Open track and field competitions.  I dont think about much, just running fast and getting out of the blocks. I got to break my PR for the season, but not overall; I am getting closer, said Hillebert.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Kick it: Washburns Nikki Kraaijeveld running in the womens 400-meter dash. Kraaijeveld finished 24th with a time of 1:01.63 in the Washburn Open on Saturdays track meet.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Mad Hops: Ichabod Tom Haug clears the bar in the high jump. Haug came in 5th with a height of 6 feet and 2.409 inches. Haug said, high jump is a very mental event in track and field because youre jumping at heights at your head and higher. So youve got to be confident in your ability and trust your training.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Pau Borillo Febrer gets some advice from assistant coach Rick Attig at the Washburn Open track meet

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Chia Okoro feels the burn as she nears the finish line in the 400-meter dash. Okoro placed 8th with a time of 1:00.10 during Saturdays competition. This hurts, but I am just thinking to get out and maintain, and the last 50 meters I just run with heart, thats what my coach told me, said Okoro.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Dalton White clears the hurdle in the 60 meter hurdles. White placed 24th with a time of 9.40 seconds.  I try to focus on sprinting as fast as I can between each hurdle; its not a very long race, so theres not much time to think about it, said White.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Ichabod Justin Gnuechtel settles into a steady pace in the mens 800 meters. Gnuechtel competed in the Washburn Open last Saturday, finishing with a time of 2:01.57.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Romain Henry leaps over the hurdles on his way to the finish line. Henry placed 3rd in the mens 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.13 seconds.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Michael Pearl competes in the mens heptathlon 1K, achieving 4th place with a time of 2:55.39 during the Washburn Open on Saturday. The key is you just have to keep up with one guy, the guy either in front of you or behind you, said Pearl.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Antina Junge racing toward the finish line of the 200-meter dash. Junge finished in 55th place with a time of 27.91 seconds.  I am so nervous, and I dont think about anything except just finishing the race without any injuries, said Junge.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Team Ichabod: Nikki Kraaijeveld taking the baton from teammate Chia Okoro in the womens relay. The relay is different because youre in a team, and you have to run against other teams, said Nikki Kraaijeveld. Its more fun, but the bad part is its always at the end of the day, and youre always tired.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
In it to win it: Washburns Chia Okoro digging deep to keep her teams position in the 4x400 relay. Okoro was the first leg in the womens 4x400 on Saturday, Jan. 30 at the Washburn Open track meet.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Flash: Washburns Wyatt Heiman closing the gap in the mens 200-meter dash. Heiman placed 35th with a time of 22.70 seconds on Saturday at the Washburn Open track meet.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Hand Off: Ichabod Lyndsay Stinson taking the baton from teammate Mandana Vouillemin. I like the 4x4 a lot because its more fun than the 400, and you feel more motivated because youre running for other people other than yourself, said Stinson. You worry more about the team doing good as a whole.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Run until it hurts: Washburns Mandana Vouillemin turning up the heat in the womens 4x400 relay. Vouillemin ran the third leg of the relay on Saturday during Washburns Open track meet.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Anchor Leg: Washburns Lyndsay Stinson rushing toward the finish line in the 4x400 relay.  I like the last leg because your position is more solid., Stinson said.  I feel like the first runner has to worry about getting you in a good spot, and I just have to hold on.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Washburns Pau Borillo Febrer clears the bar in his vault attempt. Febrer placed 11th in the mens heptathlon pole vault, with a height of 11 feet. 5.795 inches. The competitions were Saturday, Jan. 30, day two of Washburns Open track and field meet.

[Photo]

January 31, 2021
Load More Stories