Washburn University Mortar Board chapter receives Silver Torch award

Washburn University

TOPEKA- The Ichabod Chapter of Mortar Board National College Senior Honor Society won a Silver Torch Award at the national conference in Chicago. Morgan Schaeffer, director of communication, attended the conference to accept the award. The Silver Torch Award is given in recognition of chapter excellence in supporting the ideals of Mortar Board: scholarship, leadership and service. The chapters must meet the chapter minimum standards, as determined by Mortar Board. These can be found at www.mortarboard.org/chapter/award.html. There are 42 students in the 2009-10 Ichabod Chapter. The officers are Angel Romero, Topeka, president; Kaitlin Marsh, Topeka, vice-president; Josh Maples, Lindsborg, secretary; Kate Rowden, Lawrence, treasurer; Schaeffer; Emily Charles, Hiawatha, historian; David Reed, Topeka, membership chairperson; Courtney Peterson, Overland Park, alumni chair; and Heather Hartley, Topeka, webmaster. Mortar Board Inc. is a national honor society which recognizes college seniors for distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Founded in 1918 as the first national organization honoring senior college women, the Society opened its membership to men in 1975. Since 1918, more than 240,000 college students have been initiated into Mortar Board.