Washburn Mortar Board gains national recognition for academic acheivements

Washburn Review

The Ichabod chapter of Mortar Board at Washburn University was among the outstanding chapters to be honored for its excellence at the 2010 Mortar Board National Conference, July 23-25 in Chicago.

The group was one of 77 chapters to receive the Silver Torch Award, presented to chapters meeting chapter management standards while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service.

Chapter Vice President Nicole Stejskal, Bison, Kan., was present to accept the chapter’s award.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the organization has grown from the four founding chapters to 228 chartered collegiate chapters with nearly a quarter of a million initiated members across the nation. The Ichabod chapter at Washburn University was chartered in 2006 and currently has 51 members.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include distinguished politician Condoleezza Rice, Super Bowl MVP Drew Brees and Suzy’s Zoo creator Suzy Spafford.

Learn more about Mortar Board at students.washburn.edu/organizations/mortarboard/ or mortarboard.org.