Washburn University debate team wins Overall Debate Sweepstakes Championship

Washburn University

TOPEKA – The Talkin’ Ichabods, Washburn University’s debate team, won the Overall Debate Sweepstakes Championship at the Top of the Rockies invitational at the University of Wyoming, Laramie, Wyo., tallying up an impressive 265 sweepstakes points. In Lincoln Douglas Debate, junior Aly Fiebrantz and senior Steve Mitchell, both of Topeka, both captured the Open Lincoln Douglas Championship. Freshman Keenan Hogan, Lawrence, and senior Barbie Warhurst, Salina, were both quarter-finalists. For Lincoln Douglas Speaker Awards, sophomore Andrew Lake, Topeka, received eighth place; Fiebrantz placed sixth; Mitchell received third place; and junior Shanna Carlson, Great Bend, won tournament champion in the open division. In Open Parliamentary Debate, the teams of sophomore Joe Allen, Boise, Idaho, and sophomore Tyler Dooley, Independence, Mo.; Carlson and senior Patrick Muenks, Parkville, Mo.; and Fiebrantz and Mitchell; were all octa-finalists, while teammates Lake and Hogan were quarter-finalists. In Junior Varsity Parliamentary Debate, the team of sophomore Joe Astrab, Winfield, and freshman Jordan Duncan, Parsons, were octa-finalists, while the teams of sophomores Calvin Coker, Topeka, and Cassidy Crabtree, Arkansas City, and freshmen Tracy Lechliter, Arcadia, and Brian Rutschmann, Topeka, were both quarter-finalists. For Junior Varsity Parliamentary Debate speaker awards, Coker received fifth place and Crabtree placed third. Kevin O’Leary, Washburn director of forensics, was honored as “Coach of the Year,” an award bestowed by the University of Wyoming’s Speech and Debate Union. The recipient of this award is an individual that consistently displays abilities in teaching debate and academic success. For more information contact O’Leary at (785) 670-2234.