UPDATE: Kansas election results official

Richard Kelly

UPDATE: Nov. 3, 3:15 p.m.

It’s official: Republicans have swept the state’s for U.S. House seats for the first time since 1996. Tim Huelskamp, Lynn Jenkins, Kevin Yoder, and Mike Pompeo  all held on to win their seats. Jenkins, who will represent the 2nd District, won with 63 percent of the vote. Republican Jerry Moran won the U.S. Senatorial seat previously occupied by Sam Brownback by a 70 percent margin, with Democrat Lisa Johnston receiving 26 percent of the vote.

Also winning with 63 percent of the vote was Republican gubernatorial candidate Sam Brownback, who will return home to Kansas after 16 years in the U.S. Senate. State Democratic Sen. Tom Holland received 32 percent of the vote, with Libertarian candidate Andrew Gray collecting 3 percent of the vote and Reform Party candidate Kenneth Cannon received 2 percent of the vote.

Three incumbent Democrats were also beaten out in Secretary of State Chris Biggs, Attorney General Steve Six and State Treasurer Dennis McKinney. Taking over the reigns are Republicans Kris Kobach, Derek Schmidt and Ron Estes.

Former Washburn Student Government Association President Garrett Love also won his race for the Kansas House of Representatives District 115, winning 783-0 in Clark County and receiving 99.49 percent of the votes in Meade County and 100 percent of the vote in Gray County.


Tuesday brought Kansans out to the polls. It’s also bringing new names to Kansas politics.

Preliminary voting results are in and show a victory in U.S. Senate for Republican candidate Jerry Moran, who has received 69 percent, or 508,691, of the votes cast as of near 11:30 p.m. Tuesday evening. Democrat candidate Lisa Johnston followed in second place with 27 percent, or 198, 601, of the votes.

Governor’s race currently gives Republican Sam Brownback the lead over runner-up Democrat Todd Holland with 460,052 votes for Brownback and 240,641 votes for Holland.

Republican Kris Kobach has 59 percent to 38 percent lead over runner-up Democratic Chris Biggs for the Kansas Secretary of State position. Republican Derek Schmidt currently holds a 55 percent to 42 percent lead over Steve Six for the Kansas Attorney General position.

State Treasurer currently favors Republican Ron Estes, who has a 59 percent to 42 percent lead over Democrat Dennis McKinney.

The four U.S. House of Representatives all look to be Republicans as Tim Huelskamp, Lynn Jenkins, Kevin Yoder, and Mike Pompeo all hold the advantage in their respective races.

Former Washburn Student Government Association President Garrett Love is running as a Republican for the Kansas House of Representatives District 115 position. As of last check, his results were not yet available.