Review, Kaw and Indigo win KACP awards

Aaron Blossom

The Student Publications staff at Washburn recently traveled to the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press awards in Wichita. The following awards were brought home by the staffs of the Washburn Review, Kaw Yearbook and Indigo magazine.


Sports Page DesignHonorable Mention – Amanda Schuster

Student Life Design2nd place – Amanda Schuster

Single Ad Design – Magazine3rd place – Courtney Cook

Event PhotographyHonorable Mention – Cordell Anderson3rd place – Aaron Deffenbaugh

Sports Feature PhotographyHonorable Mention – Aaron Deffenbaugh

Yearbook Theme DevelopmentHonorable Mention – Kaw Yearbook

Yearbook Cover Design 3rd – Kaw Yearbook

Overall Yearbook AwardGold – Kaw

Overall Magazine AwardHonorable Mention – Indigo


Photo Essay Honorable Mention – Aaron Deffenbaugh

NewswritingHonorable Mention – ReAnne Utemark

Interior Page DesignHonorable Mention – Paige PfannenstielHonorable Mention – Melissa Treolo1st place – Sam Hartle

Front Page Design Honorable Mention – ReAnne Utemark and Karl Fundenberger2nd place – ReAnne Utemark, Sarah Van Dalsem and Karl Fundenberger1st place – ReAnne Utemark and Sam Hartle

Single Ad Design – NewspaperHonorable Mention – Courtney Cook

Sports ColumnHonorable Mention – Nate Miller

Feature WritingHonorable Mention – Melissa TreoloHonorable Mention – Travis Perry1st place – Melissa Sewell

Series Writing3rd place – Sarah Van Dalsem

Infographics2nd place – Karl Fundenberger

Illustrations Honorable Mention – Karl Fundenberger1st place – Karl Fundenberger

Editorial WritingHonorable Mention – Review Editorial Board2nd place – Review Editorial Board

Column WritingHonorable Mention – Sarah Van Dalsem

Special Section Honorable Mention – Sideliner Staff

Sports FeaturesHonorable Mention – Corey Jones

Overall Award – NewspaperSilver – Washburn Review