SOAR awards celebrate excellence in Washburn students, staff

Marian Lacey

On Thursday, April 12, winners of the 2006-07 Student Organization Achievement Recognition awards were honored in the Kansas Room of the Memorial Union.

Awarded by the Office of Student Activities and Greek Life, the SOAR awards program is growing every year as more students and advisors are being recognized for their achievements on campus and in the community.

The purpose of these awards is to recognize the outstanding leadership of advisors and students from the Washburn community.

“We do it so that each organization has the opportunity to nominate people within their group and people from other organizations as well as nominate themselves for their outstanding achievements,” said Marsha Carrasco-Cooper, director of SAGL.

Carrasco-Cooper said the banquet went well and was very enjoyable.

Winners received plaques or framed certificates, while those who were nominated also received certificates.

“I hope everybody who was there feels like they got recognized,” said Carrasco-Cooper.

SOAR award winners

Student Organization of the Year – American Business Women’s Association Random Acts of Kindness Award – Megan MaesOutstanding Program for Community Service – Washburn Student Government AssociationOutstanding Program for Campus Enhancement – WSGA and Campus Activities Board Outstanding Program for Diversity – LinC Scholar/Bonner Leaders President’s Outstanding Leader – Molly SheaOutstanding Student Organization Advisor – Kristine HartTrue Blue Bod – Elizabeth Hinton Emerging Leader for Freshmen – Angel Romero Emerging Leader for Transfer Students – Beth Dehncke