Six graduates to be honored

Six Washburn University graduates will be honored as Alumni Fellows at a luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Friday, Oct. 28, at the Bradbury Thompson Alumni Center. The cost is $15 for members of the Alumni Association and $17 for non-members. Reservations are due by Oct. 21 and may be made by calling (785) 670-1641 or sending e-mail to [email protected].

Sponsored by the Washburn University deans and the Alumni Association, the Alumni Fellows program recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their career fields.

The 2010 Fellows are:

George A. Barton, Mission Hills, Kan., juris doctor, 1977 (School of Law honoree). Barton is the president and sole shareholder of the The Law Offices of George A. Barton, PC, where he has successfully litigated a number of landmark cases that have significantly improved the calculation and payment of natural gas royalties. He is a board member for The River Club in Kansas City, Mo.

Barry F. Feaker, Topeka, bachelor of science, 1980 (College of Arts and Sciences honoree). Feaker is the executive director of the Topeka Rescue Mission, a homeless shelter that has served the community since 1953. The president of the Safe Streets Coalition and coordinator of the Topeka City of Character, Feaker has received proclamations from the office of the governor and Topeka mayor.

Daniel F. Hutchins, Shawnee, Kan., bachelor of business administration, 1978 (School of Business honoree). Hutchins is a principal at the CPA firm Hutchins & Haake LLC. A trustee for the Washburn University Foundation, he also is a member of the Mid-American Angels, a group dedicated to funding startup businesses. Hutchins is accredited as a personal financial specialist, and his firm was listed among the top 25 in the Kansas City area by Kansas City Business Journal.

Nialson F. Lee, Topeka, bachelor of science in nursing, 1976 (School of Nursing honoree). Lee retired as director of health care services for the Kansas Neurological Institute. A former president of the Washburn Nursing Alumni Association and co-president of the Topeka High School Booster Club, he received the excellence in nursing practice award from nursing honor society Sigma Theta Tau.

Daryl W. Palmer, Denver, Colo., bachelor of arts, 1982 (College of Arts and Sciences honoree). Palmer is an associate professor, English, at Regis University in Denver. He has served as chairman of the English department at Regis and is the author of two books: “Writing Russia in the Age of Shakespeare” and “Hospitable Performances: Dramatic Genre and Cultural Practices in Early Modern England.”

Paul R. Silovsky, Topeka, associate of science, 1985 (School of Applied Studies honoree). Silovsky is the owner and executive director of Rebound Physical Therapy. He served as chairman of the Kansas Physical Therapy Association Legislative Committee and is a supporter of the Arthritis Foundation. Silovsky received the Legislative Leadership Award from the American Physical Therapy Association.