WSGA celebrates Shald/Shea, honors senators’ work

Julie Knapp

Last Wednesday, the Washburn Student Government Association honored each other for participating in the organization.

Josh Shald, 06-07 president of WSGA, was the keynote speaker for the evening, and thanked his executive members, senators and also the administration for working with the students.

“Each standing committee produced phenomenal results,” said Shald.

Various awards were also given out to the senators of the year and executive staff members of the year, which were voted on by the members of WSGA.

“It’ll be a great opportunity to get to serve you next year,” said Elise Short, who won Senator of the Year along with Nick Woolery.

Incentive awards were also given to senators who completed a certain number of tasks.

“I know this university has left an impact on me, and I hope I have left an impact on it,” said Shald.

Awards given to members of the Washburn Student Government Association

Incentive awards

Bronze awardKylie GilstrapMichelle TruittNick Woolery

Silver awardBillie Jean BergmannAnnie BrevitzChris HodgesPatrick MuenksDavid Reed

Gold awardVince BowhayWhitney PhillipiElise Short

Senator of the YearNick WooleryElise Short

Executive Staff Member of the YearShelby Shinkle

Advisor awardDenise Ottinger