Washburn announces team MVPs at annual athletic banquet

The Washburn Athletic Department held its 2010-11 student-athlete most valuable player and senior recognition banquet on Monday night in the Washburn Room of the Memorial Union.

The following student-athletes were honored as team MVP’s: Molly Smith (volleyball), Ashley Klone (soccer), Joe Hastings (offensive – football), Michael Wilhoite (defensive – football), Logan Stutz (basketball), Stevi Schultz (basketball), Kelsie Novotny (softball), Dane Simoneau (baseball), Jamie Blackim (tennis), Bobby Florence (tennis). The golf MVP will be decided at the end of the season as it is based on stroke average.

The 2010-11 Washburn senior scholar athlete of the year is Jordan Shefte from the Lady Blues soccer team.

Tabbed as the 2010-11 Lady Blues senior athlete of the year is Molly Smith from volleyball and the 2010-11 Ichabod senior athlete of the year is Joe Hastings from football.

Earning the Capitol Federal True Blue Scholar were: Mitch Allen, Men’s Basketball, Finance Major and Laura Kinderknecht, Women’s Basketball, Math Major.

Capitol Federal Savings Scholars were: Marty Pfannenstiel, Football, Accounting Major; Lauren Himpel, Softball, Nursing Major; Breanna Lewis, Volleyball, History Major and Greg Schoenberg, Football, Physical Education Major.

Pat O’Donnell from Pepsi is this year’s Ichabod Scholarship Fund donor of the year award.