Washburn University students inducted into Top Hat Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta

Seventy seven Washburn University students were inducted into the Top Hat Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta. Alpha Lambda Delta is an honor society for students in their first year at an institution of higher education. ALD has been in existence since 1924. ALD recognizes those students who have succeeded in maintaining a 3.5 or higher GPA, or are in the top 20 percent of their class, in the first year. ALD’s mission is to “encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society.

Students inducted into ALD are listed below by hometown, year in school, and declared major:

Abilene: Bonnie McKee, sophomore, biology and chemistry

Auburn: Rachel Shelor, sophomore, biochemistry; Hayley Spicer, junior, undeclared

Axtell: Stacy Koch, sophomore, radiologic technology

Basehor: Lauren Klem, sophomore, criminal justice with a concentration in law enforcement

Berryton: Zoe Brown, sophomore, mass media with a concentration in media writing and publication; Carrie Osborne, junior, physical therapy assistant

 Burlington: Karinn Card, junior, biology; Autumn Kirchner, senior, business, with a concentration in marketing and management

Carbondale: Lindsay Girardin, junior, medical imaging and radiologic technology

Circleville: Amanda Kathrens, sophomore, music education

Collinsville, Texas: Ariel Jennings, sophomore, business, with a concentration in economics

Council Grove: Betsy Wooden, sophomore, biology

Culver City, Calif.: Nicholas Call, sophomore, undeclared

Derby: Carly Boswell, junior, mathematics, with a concentration in actuarial science; Courtney Gillespie, sophomore, social work; Korie Showalter, junior, nursing

Dexter: Laura Fanning, sophomore, elementary education, with a concentration in middle school mathematics

Dunbar, Pa.: Michael Crayton, sophomore, physics

Effingham: Sloane Elias, sophomore, nursing

Emporia: Brittany Smith, sophomore, social work

Fairview: Tiffany Jurgensmeier, sophomore, radiologic technology

Garden City: Bianca Martinez, junior, biology; Lynn Nguyen, junior, biology

Garden Plain: Lauren Doherty, sophomore, history

Great Bend: Jordyn Buntain, junior, nursing; Delaney Fish, junior, computer information science and mathematics

Hanover: Allison Bruna, sophomore, kinesiology, with a concentration in exercise science

Hiawatha: Brittany Rygaard, sophomore, nursing

Holton: Addie O’Connell, sophomore, psychology

Hugoton: Tyler Concannon, sophomore, biochemistry

Hutchinson: Adam Teel, sophomore, political science

Independence: Kaitlyn Porter, sophomore, elementary education, with a concentration in adaptive special education

Junction City: Brittnee Mulford, sophomore, nursing

Kansas City, Kan.: Jenna Frick, sophomore, biochemistry; David Hutchinson, sophomore, history

LaHorpe: Amanda Carr, senior, political science and sociology

Lancaster: Hannah Boos, sophomore, physical therapist assistant

Lawrence: Korissa Gillespie, sophomore, biology; Emily Paulsen, sophomore, music education; Alicia Potter, sophomore, business management

Leavenworth: Molly Adams, sophomore, elementary education, with a concentration in early childhood education; Sarah Lemmon, junior, business, with a concentration in marketing

Louisburg: Zachary Hill, sophomore, physical therapist assistant

McLouth: Cassidy Bristol, sophomore, psychology

Meriden: Melanie Beeghly, sophomore, business, with a concentration in management; Erika Herring, sophomore, radiologic technology

Nortonville: Lincoln Kingman, sophomore, general business

Oskaloosa: Rachael Metzger, sophomore, undeclared

Ottawa: Sarah McMahon, sophomore, mathematics, with a concentration in actuarial science

Sharon Springs; Kelley Van Laeys, sophomore, nursing

Shawnee: Samantha Finley, sophomore, nursing

Spring Hill: Grant Nelson, sophomore, business, with a concentration in finance

St. Marys: Amber VandeVelde, sophomore, nursing

Stockton: Stephen Moll, sophomore, biology; Hayley Strutt, sophomore, biology

Topeka: Evan Arnold, sophomore, radiologic technology; Nick Arnold, freshman, undeclareded; Delanie Atteberry, sophomore, forensic chemical science; Marrissa Bradley, sophomore, business, with a concentration in management; Abby Brinker, sophomore, biology; Madison Butler, freshman, criminal justice, with a concentration in law enforcement; Caitrin Conaway, sophomore, nursing; Stephanie Forni, sophomore, English, with a concentration in secondary education; Mercedes Garcia Reyes, sophomore, undeclared; Chelsea Haney, sophomore, music education with a concentration on vocal; Meaghan Hartley, sophomore, undeclared; Brian Hunter, sophomore, undeclared; Sarah Keffer, sophomore, music education; Courtney Kesselring, sophomore, art education; William Lachowsky, sophomore, business, with a concentration in accounting; Garrett Mazachek, sophomore, business, with concentrations in accounting and finance; Chloe Moss, sophomore, psychology; Jessica Ramsdell, sophomore, history; Margeuax Seymour, sophomore, psychology; Hai Ping Sun,sophomore, undeclared.

Wamego: Jana Havens, sophomore, music education